Home > Play-by-post discussion > Poll – PbEM or PBeM?

Poll – PbEM or PBeM?

Lately I’ve noticed that I’ve been writing “PbEM” instead of “PBeM”. Making the “b” lower case because it’s the insignificant word “by”. But I’ve noticed that when other people use the acronym, they make the “e” small, for “e-mail”. I’m not quite sure when this convention came about, and why certain letters deserve to be uppercase more than others. But I wondered enough about it that I wanted to create a poll to see which was the most popular.

  1. October 12, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    [x] Other
    I see it more as a concept than an abbreviation so I prefer “PBEM”. (In part because I like how it looks, hehe)

    • October 12, 2009 at 10:54 pm

      You know what… I think you’re right. It does look better. The wording gets especially complicated when you start amending the word, like I’d call a player of PBEMs a PBEMer, or someone who likes PBEMing. The wording of that looks really odd with a lowercase letter in the middle!

  1. May 22, 2011 at 10:56 am

Leave a Reply

