Home > OngoingWorlds site news, Website Development > You can now add character photos

You can now add character photos

The OngoingWorlds website has now been updated so that you can add photos to your character profiles. The photos will show when you view the individual character pages, as well as on the “Characters” page for each game.

All games have been upgraded, and any new games which are created will have this functionality as standard.

Add a photo for your character

To add a photo for your character, view the character’s profile, and click “Edit Character” (note: you can only edit characters that you own, or if you’re a Moderator in the game you can edit all characters in your game).

Show character screen

This is where you can edit your character’s profile. You can change their name and age, and fill in the fields that your game has chosen to ask. Be as descriptive as you can because other members will need to know about your character.

Edit character screen

Click browse to select a photo from your computer. Press “Open”.

Showing character screen now with photo

Save the character and you should see the photo appear on your character’s profile.

How this will be useful

A photo says a thousand words, so finding a suitable photo will save you needing to write a lot of description, although you should always give enough description of your character for other people to be able to write about them.

The next feature which will be added to OngoingWorlds is the ability to add a character to a post, so that you’ll be able to “tag” a post (like you can with photos in Facebook), and all the characters associated with the post will appear in small thumbnail images down the right-hand side, showing instantly who is present in the post. This will also provide an easy link to the character’s profile. I’ve talked more about this in a previous blog post, have a look there if you’re interested.

  1. M. L. Longsworth
    May 21, 2010 at 4:27 am

    Something I noticed in creating my character was that there seemed to be a word/space limit. I would write out the character’s personality/interests, hit , and find that the character’s name had been shortened to just her first name. When I went back in to edit, returning the character’s full name, a part of the personality/interests was hacked off at the end. I know I can be verbose, but I do like giving my game coordinators/masters/people something to work with. 🙂

    • May 21, 2010 at 6:55 am

      Currently there is a limit unfortunately, but this will be changed soon, I want to make sure everyone has enough room to write whatever they want. Any other improvements you can think of?

  2. Mikepbellend
    May 25, 2010 at 9:54 am

    Yes, who is that girl in the photo?

    • May 25, 2010 at 11:06 am

      It’s Tina from Wizards Inc! ( http://www.ongoingworlds.com/games/88/characters/203 )

      I got her photo from google images. Do you know her?

      • Lisa
        May 27, 2010 at 5:00 pm

        LOL, I think Mike is asking because he thinks she is hot. 🙂

      • May 27, 2010 at 5:33 pm

        She is hot! I thought that would attract Mike’s attention 😉

      • Mikepbellend
        June 1, 2010 at 3:41 pm

        Yes it did. I have a feeling Norman A. Wizard might just become a dirty old man.

  3. Mikepbellend
    May 27, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    I know it’s Tina, was just wondering who she was. Don’t know her from Adam.

    • May 27, 2010 at 5:10 pm

      Not. Sure who she is, i hope she sees her photo on OW and gets in touch, she’s beautiful!

      • Mikepbellend
        June 1, 2010 at 3:44 pm

        She’s all yours mate, I’ve already found my dream girl 😉

  4. Lisa
    May 27, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    The picture addition for characters is great! How about the same option for members?

    • May 27, 2010 at 5:34 pm

      I will add one eventually, but for now I want to focus more on the characters. Do you think it’s necessary for a character to need more than one photo?

      • Mikepbellend
        June 1, 2010 at 3:40 pm

        No. If someone takes a picture off google images, it’s sometimes hard to find two of the same person. So for lazy people like me, the vote goes to just one image.

  5. Lisa
    May 27, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    Also, just a thought… what about about the ability to add another picture during a post to illustrate a scene or emotion?

    • May 27, 2010 at 5:37 pm

      My goal is to allow you to choose a location for a post ( from a list of existing locations, or add a new one) which will then show a thumbnail of the location you chose on the post.
      Also I do want the option to upload a photo for the post. But I know that once I add this, people will start wanting to add two pictures per post, and then more. Then it could make the post screen look like a big mess of images. Should we limit it to one image per post, or as many as you want?

  6. Mikepbellend
    June 1, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    I think a photo of the chosen area would be good enough. Well, I would prefer that in my PBeMs anyway. Put too much emphasis into what you’re depicting by images and a lot of the quality in the writing will be gone I think. When just using words, it takes a lot of imagination on both the writer and the reader to get that mental image of the story that I really enjoy about the games so far.

    • June 2, 2010 at 8:04 am

      Okay thanks, I suppose if you give people too much choice then they’ll only make a mess of the page! At work we create websites for people and give them the ability to change the content themselves. I’ve seen beautiful websites turned within weeks to horrible messes of nasty fonts, centre-aligned text, and horrible images. Learning from this I’ve decided it’s best to allow people to edit the text but not change the layout.

  7. Mikepbellend
    June 2, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    Onion :
    I’ve seen beautiful websites turned within weeks to horrible messes of nasty fonts, centre-aligned text, and horrible images.

    BASTARD!

    It only took me a couple of days to make my site like that!

    • June 3, 2010 at 8:11 am

      Case and point! I don’t want to give people the opportunity to make a mess of my website 😀

  8. Mikepbellend
    June 3, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    It’s all mine this, mine that, mine the other with you isn’t it! You’re just jealous cause I’m not even a web designer and I still made an awesome site :oP

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

