Home > Play-by-post discussion > Using Facebook for roleplaying

Using Facebook for roleplaying

Facebook logoMany people use Facebook as a place to roleplay as a character. Facebook is one of the most advanced websites for keeping in touch with your friends and allows you to post regular updates that your friends can see and comment on. There’s great potential here for roleplaying as a character, but there’s also some really annoying limitations, the main being that Facebook really don’t like roleplayers and might remove your profile.

This article has moved. You can read it here.

Categories: Play-by-post discussion Tags:
  1. November 13, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    I’m a RP-Role player on facebook
    I’m rp of a korean famous singer HyunA
    I love role playering and I think It’s to fun !

  2. LittleGreece
    December 15, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    I don’t see why fb is deleting all of our roleplaying acocunts. So many people that I know have had their account lost in the last week. Two of the three acocunts I had have been deleted, along with the amazing stories and conversations I was having ic and ooc. I’ll have to remake them all and hopefully find my friends again. I just hope my 3rd account isn’t deleted. I know that me and so many other people love role playing and its my and others way of escaping the real world for a short time and expressing themselfs creativly. I’ve personally also met so many people around the world that I would not of met if I had not of role played on facebook. I think that we shouldn’t have to worry about facebook deleting our accouts. This is not right and I think they should of at least warned us a couple weeks before they deleted us so that we had a chance to get each other’s rl fb or an account on another site.

  3. DracoMalfoys
    January 14, 2012 at 9:02 am

    Im a roleplayer on facebook as well.. But im giving up!
    I have had 6 accounts but i got locked out of all of them, and i used my phone number for my original account.. Which means, too bad so sad for me.

    Im used to roleplay as Draco Malfoy and i really cant see where else i can roleplay as him.. It annoys me that he cant see that we dont mean to harm people, and i believe that it only annoys him. I only know people in real that gets suprised and says that im a freak, but its a freaking good idea..

    He just made himself my worse enemy, Mark xD

    • January 14, 2012 at 11:37 am

      Hi Draco, that’s a shame but unfortunately that’s what facebook is like. There are many other places you could roleplay like rolepages.com or ongoingworlds.com

  4. Hiyorihollow
    January 14, 2012 at 9:18 pm

    I rp on facebook as a lot of characters! Though I mainly am Hiyori Sarugaki from bleach! 😀 I’ve been lucky enough to never have me account deleted (FUCK YES!) but I have many friends who had that happen to them. I hate how facebook does that, roleplayers probably make up about half of their members… Or more. Oh well though! Its not going to stop me, cause I could care less!

  5. marie
    January 25, 2012 at 7:13 pm

    i role play on facebook but all mine r set up as pages and not profiles

    • January 25, 2012 at 10:59 pm

      That’s a very good idea, you’ll be a lot less likely to be deleted and you can still use facebook “as a page” which make it similar to using it as a normal user. I’d really like to know more about how you roleplayers on facebook using pages, where you got the idea from and how many people roleplay like this. Would you be able to write a blog article for us about this? Id love to read it. You can submit it here:
      https://ongoingworlds.wordpress.com/write-for-us/

  6. Yessenia
    March 13, 2012 at 11:07 pm

    Role play is something people enjoy. and if you take it off your going to make people sad because they made new friends from all over the world. i would cry if mine got deleted :\

  7. Becca
    March 13, 2012 at 11:59 pm

    I had many rp accounts. I tried to enter in today and they are all blocked 😦

  8. The_Lady_Competitor
    March 15, 2012 at 6:29 pm

    Facebook has even been deleting real accounts from actual people, one of the admins of my group “Children of Gallifrey” had been using their actual account for roleplay and was deleted for it. Many of my friends who roleplay with their actual accounts and not a fictional character have been deleted.

  9. Kim HyunA
    May 1, 2013 at 3:29 am

    I’m A roleplayer of Kim HyunA who sang Bubble pop, ice cream and lots of more. Doing this [Roleplaying] is so much fun 🙂

  1. December 9, 2010 at 6:59 pm
  2. December 30, 2010 at 10:55 pm
  3. January 4, 2011 at 8:31 am

Leave a Reply

