Home > Play-by-post discussion, Website Development > Play-by-post or Interactive Storytelling?

Play-by-post or Interactive Storytelling?

woman dressed up playing a gameWhen I first started creating the OngoingWorlds website I was faced with many challenges about how to technically build it, but also I had one question which was far more difficult to solve, how do I describe it?

I’ve always been clear in my head what I wanted OngoingWorlds to be. I want it to be a place where a group of people can create a story together. This isn’t an original idea, nor is it unusual. There are thousands of roleplaying games across the internet that people have been playing for years. But everyone seems to call it something different.

This article has moved. You’ll find it here.

  1. September 12, 2011 at 11:21 am

    I use to define my site as a writing community, and I think “interactive storytelling” is closer to what we are doing: we are writing a story together. I think if I call it a “game” it implies either dice or something else, or …less reliability, less commitment than writing a story together. “It’s a game, I’m not playing anymore!”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

