Home > OngoingWorlds site news, PBEM games > Welcoming Blue Dwarf to OngoingWorlds

Welcoming Blue Dwarf to OngoingWorlds

Blue Dwarf

Blue Dwarf has moved to OngoingWorlds. You can read about this here.

  1. White Wolf
    October 5, 2011 at 11:59 am

    Hey Onion!
    Can you modify that script you mentioned above to pull another Yahoo Groups messages into a text or HMTL format? The reason why I ask is because I’d love to yank down my World of Cendri RPG’s game postings for sticking into a informational Wiki that I’m using for my game.

    Thanks,
    – WW

    • October 10, 2011 at 6:26 am

      Hey Tim, yeah the script is actually in 2 parts.The first will crawl the Yahoo group and download each page as a html file. If Yahoo notice you doing this they’ll temporarily ban you after a few 100 posts, so my script checks back every 30 minutes to see if the ban has been lifted, and continue downloading more. That’s probably the script you’ll need. My 2nd script goes through these html files and pulls out the correct information to put into a database – this one is a bit more specific to my database so might not be as useful to you.

      I’ll send you a private message through FB about it.

  2. October 12, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    I’m surprised you haven’t moved it to OGW before – as an example to others. Welcome Blue Dwarf. Big Rimmer salute. And as they say in the Space Scouts “pinkle squirmy blip blap blup”

    • October 13, 2011 at 5:45 am

      Yes you’re right I should have moved it earlier, but it took me a long while to figure out how to copy all the posts from yahoo groups

  1. July 2, 2012 at 6:31 am

Leave a Reply

