Home > PBEM games, Play-by-post discussion > The importance of community in Star Trek Freedom

The importance of community in Star Trek Freedom

Star Trek FreedomSome roleplaying games have the staying power to stay around for many years, while some lose their members and close just after a few weeks. A roleplaying game isn’t just about roleplaying, it’s also a community. To find out how important a sense of community is to a roleplaying group I asked Anthony Keen, CO of roleplaying community Star Trek Freedom.

This article has now moved. You’ll find it on our new blog for roleplayers here.

  1. Matt
    October 10, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    Has a player in this game and a member of this web community, I can only say that this game rocks and I am better of knowing the many people I have had the pleasure to meet. I can only hope that people who read this find there way to Star Trek Freedom have a look around, see what we are are about and hopefully join, and become part of the fun and community that has been able to survive so long. What made this site even better was the fact’s free. I’ve listen to people say how this or that online rpg is so great but they rip out your arm for the privilege. Star Trek Freedom does not. I have truly come to love this game and find it great way to unwind. Besides what other game can you play on your smart phone and always have something new to read has your waiting in line at the store, etc.

  2. Mark Wh.
    October 10, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    I played there once and didn’t find it that great an experience. Thankfully there are many other free Star Trek pbem communities on the net. As players, it’s only a matter of trying them until we find the one that suit us the best ^^.

  3. Kat
    October 11, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    I also played there, and have met a couple of players from there. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and getting to know everyone in a close-knit community. 🙂

  4. Todd H.
    October 17, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    I’ve been a member of this community off and on for over 5 years. I’ve had to leave due to real-world commitments at least twice on a semi-permanent basis. I am always drawn back. I’m also always welcomed back with open arms. I guess the draw of such a community at least initially is, for me, telling the story. Very few venues have such a way to come together with several really good writers and tell a cohesive story. Something that makes sense and is entertaining. It’s one helluv a creative out put, I think the community of friends may not be what is the initial draw, but it certainly keeps people coming back.

  1. October 21, 2011 at 6:38 am

Leave a Reply

