Home > Events > Kicking Off Writing Improvement Month!

Kicking Off Writing Improvement Month!

UFOP Starbase118 Writing Improvement Month 2013This weekend kicks off the Starbase 118 Writing Improvement Month with some exciting events. Overall, the entire month is focused on helping creative writers and gamers improve their skills in writing, with each week divided into specific themes. The first week of the event will feature information about using grammar correctly, general writing tips, and using research resources to improve the posts we write.

Be sure to sign up for the mailing list so that you can be kept informed about the many things going on throughout the month!

The schedule for this week will include various email tips and tutorials, helpful links, and some interactive live events that everyone is sure to enjoy.

On February 3rd, join us for our opening ceremonies and meet the people who will be partaking in the event and who are leading the various activities. Opening ceremonies will be held in a special IRC chat room here at 2PM EST (11AM PST – 7PM GMT).

Following opening ceremonies, we will have an IRC chat with award winning author Margaret Bonanno at 3PM EST (12PM PST – 8PM GMT). She will be discussing general writing tips with us. There will also be a drawing for her latest book, Prenaturnal, for those who attend the event from start to finish.

A fun little grammar test will also be distributed through the event’s mailing list, allowing those who want to learn a little something to take the test and get answers and feedback from grammar gurus.

To wrap up the week, on February 9th, Captain Diego Herrera of UFOP: Starbase 118 will be hosting a Grammar and Research workshop in our IRC chat room at 3PM EST (12PM PST – 8PM GMT). Bring your questions, and your grammar test, and learn something you can apply to your writing!

The kickoff week looks like fun, so come join us and help make the first week of this special event a resounding success!

Advertisements
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s